OnlineTradersForum.com

free charts and quotes  

Go Back   OnlineTradersForum.com > Trading and Investing Education > Trading systems and services - what works for you?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2008, 05:45 AM   #1
Lizard King
new member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Lizard King has a good reputation
Default www.stockpreacher.com

hmmmmmmmmmm...
Lizard King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 05:55 AM   #2
Lizard King
new member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Lizard King has a good reputation
Default Re: www.stockpreacher.com

No insight on this site?

I'm by no means new to this world, but the site looks and reads different..Just looking for some honest opinions here.

Again, the site is http://www.stockpreacher.com

Cheers!
Lizard King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 09:50 PM   #3
xxOz
new member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Outside of the Windy City
Posts: 12
xxOz has a good reputation
Default Re: www.stockpreacher.com

<-- Begin my opinion:

Looks like a scary scam site that I would run away from. Uses all the classical social engineering triggers to try to get you to put in your e-mail address.

Web master hid his domain registration information. Site is hosted on a server with 3000+ other sites.

End my opinon -->

xxOz

Disclaimer: Your opinions may differ from mine. Enjoy.
xxOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 05:58 AM   #4
Lizard King
new member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
Lizard King has a good reputation
Default Re: www.stockpreacher.com

yeah I hear ya!

I always put my email address, or one dedicated to sites like that, just to see what they have to say...
This site sends out all sorts of "tips" about the stock market in an attempt to educate people, and although I knew all the information they were talking about, it is a little different than the usual BUY BUY BUY sites that I have seen...But I do see your point.

I don't get the "they hid their information bit" or how that is bad.. I mean, I have a corporate site and I also hide the tech details because I dont want some freak having my info or adding it to some list without my permission.. why is that viewed bad, and why is the fact that it is hosted on a server with 3000+ other sites bad?

Just wondering, because that end of it seems trivial to me.

I could post their "trading tips" on here if anyone wanted to see, but these forums seem to be very anti those kinda sites, whereas I see no harm in creating an email account dedicated to seeing what some sites are saying.
Most is crap though, so you are probably right

thanks for your input!

LK
Lizard King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 08:59 AM   #5
xxOz
new member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Outside of the Windy City
Posts: 12
xxOz has a good reputation
Default Re: www.stockpreacher.com

In regards to the hiding of domain registration details... Most reputable businesses will not hide their information on these forms, because one of the primary purposes of that information is providing an ability to contact a technical representative in the event that something technically negative is being caused by the holder of that domain. An example of which is SPAM. If the domain holder does not cease delivery of e-mails on request or if the violate their stated privacy policy by giving your e-mail address to another party, then having that technical information makes it significantly easier to try and resolve a difficulty. By obfuscating that information, they are just putting up road blocks if events like that occur.

Obviously, there are some very legitimate reasons to have your registration proxied, but when you have a website that looks like that and you want to not throw up additional red flags, well... Don't act like you have something to hide.

The fact that there are 3000+ sites pointed to the same IP address indicates that most likely this web site is based on a $4.99 hosting plan or even free, which perhaps toatlly suites his needs... It is just another potential indicator of a low rent operation though. Like technical analysis of a stock, some of these things have multiple meanings and may not actually reflect how upstanding the site is, they are just indicators to be interpreted.

xxOz
xxOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump




Google
 
Web OnlineTradersForum.com
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.



All Rights Reserved ©2005-2009 Fiasco Financial Network