PDA

View Full Version : Prosper.com - make/get a dodgy loan!


englishman26
10-26-2007, 12:00 AM
Just found this. Sort of the ebay of loans!

www.Prosper.com.

It seems Prosper is an online marketplace where potential lenders are able to partially fund people that may not have any other option or are looking for more competitive rates. Lenders are drawn in by the prospect of high fixed returns. The catch is that you need to find reliable risk and reward and continually make these bets each and every time. You are provided a snap shot of prospective borrowers including late payments, income, debt to income ratios, and also a brief profile personalizing the reason they are looking for a loan. In fact, you’ll sometimes see a suggestive picture on the loan - maybe this is sufficient to fund a horribly rated loan. Well, maybe I’m not surprised but that’s besides the point. You can find folks trying to start a business, guys looking for a down payment on their fiancées engagement ring, others looking to consolidate debt, and of course those thinking they are the next Donald Trump.

netwrangler
10-26-2007, 01:57 PM
See also,

http://www.lendingclub.com

They were the subject of a 9/24/2007 article in Barron's (http://online.barrons.com/article/SB119041447962535740-search.html?KEYWORDS=online+lending&COLLECTION=barrons/6month).

Sorta feels like a online-social version of the original credit union concept - back when credit unions were limited in their enrollment and the theory was that you knew your borrower.

Course here, who knows who the borrower is? Maybe someone trying to scape up enough money for TonyM's sofa. :wink:

englishman26
10-26-2007, 04:12 PM
I like the analogy to this a how mortgages were lent and resold recently. Do you trust your/the credit rating agency??

Maybe we could all pull together and get TonyM a new sofa if he really wants one!

netwrangler
10-26-2007, 04:17 PM
The dobro player in our band has a furniture store in the downtown design center here in LA. Do one of y'all got a pick-up? :wink: